Scrapped rail freight scheme wins prestigious award


Although government cuts has resulted in the scrapping of the Department for Transport’s Freight Best Practice scheme, it won the prestigious 2011 Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport North West Region Award for Environmental Improvement.

The judges said that the scheme, designed to assist lorry and freight operators in achieving advances in economic and efficient performance, driver skills and overall business best practice, had improved driver behaviour and reduced carbon emissions.

Its demise was considered ‘very regrettable’.

The award was made at a gala dinner held at Cranage Hall Hotel, Holmes Chapel on 24th June, hosted by Dave Guest, BBC North West Tonight reporter and broadcaster.

Guests celebrated logistics and transport education and excellence in the North West with the presentation of seven awards.

Keynote speeches were provided by David Irlam, Executive Director of the Stobart Group (who also presented the winners with their awards) and CILT Vice-President Jim Spittle.

Dr Charles Roberts, of Liverpool John Moores University, scooped two awards winning the Service to the Logistics & Transport Industry prize, as well as the presentation of CILT’s highest recognition of voluntary service, the CILT Meritorious Award.

This award is presented in recognition of outstanding service to The Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport and/or the transport and logistics profession.

From a strong field of both graduate and post-graduate candidates Sam Fagan, who studies at Huddersfield University, was named Student of the Year.

Zoe Pickering, of the Stobart Group, won the Young Manager of the Year award in recognition of the multiple roles she has performed over the last 14 years of employment with the company.

Bentley Motors Limited won the Best Practice award for the design and construction of new warehousing and systems at its Crewe production facility, a scheme which has vastly reduced the number of vehicles delivering to the site.

The Lifetime Achievement award was presented in absentia to Richard Elviss who recently retired from AECOM.

After graduating from Oxford University, Richard enjoyed a highly varied and distinguished career working for Renwicks, Suttons, Hansons, TDG, Hoyers Scott Paper Co, Frigoscandia, Exxon, Aqua Water (part of Danone) and Faber Maunsell AECOM.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here